Potato Salad & Pasta Salad

01Jun08

This is for all those foodies out there and because I love to share things that taste oh so great.  The two recipes I list below are loved by my husband, the pasta salad more so however.  I don’t actually measure when I make these so please I hope you understand.

Potato Salad:

  • 5 large (decent sized) red potatos
  • Mayo
  • Mustard
  • Olives
  • Sweet Pickle Relish
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 4 Eggs

I wash the potatoes, dice them up into bite sizes, and then boil them for 25-30 minutes, until tender and easily speared.  Then I take the eggs and boil those while the potatoes are boiling.  Once both are complete I take the potatoes and drain the water and then place them into a bowl.  I add to the potatoes olives which I have sliced (half a can?) and then maybe 2-3 tablespoons of pickle relish, which ever works for you.  I add just a dash of mustard, lets say 2-3 teaspoons.  Add more for your taste.  Then 1-2 cups mayo until it is the consistency I like.  I add in the hard boiled egg all chopped up. mix this all together and let sit in the fridge for an hour.  Yummy!

Pasta Salad:

  • 1 box of whole wheat Rotini pasta
  • 1 Can Kidney beans
  • 1-2 cans green beans (I use del-monte fancy cut)
  • 1-2 cans medium olives
  • 1 bottle of Kraft Italian Pesto salad dressing
  • 1 package of regular Jimmie dean sausage

I cook the whole box of pasta to my liking.  I slice up the sausage and cook it up.  Once cooked I break it up into bite size pieces.  Once both are cooked I add them together after the pasta is drained.  I then add the kidney beans, olives, and green beans.  To that I add the bottle of Italian Pesto salad dressing and mix.  I let that sit in the fridge at least an hour to allow the flavors to soak in.  M loves this so much.

One Response to “Potato Salad & Pasta Salad”

  1. oh, this sounds fabulous. I LOVE Potato Salad!


Leave a Reply

